I Want

 

I want to be the first smile you’ll see
and the lips you want to kiss.
I want to be the one who’ll fix you breakfast
and pour you a cup of coffee.
I want to be the one who waves to you goodbye
when you’re off to work.
I want to be the one who calls you from time to time
telling you how much I’ve missed you.
I want to be the reason you come home in a rush
not just because dinner is served but because I am
your dessert.
I want to be the one who tucks you at night
and wraps you in my arms holding you tight.
I want to be the one who chases away your nightmares
and replaces them with better dreams.
I want to be the one who will hold your hands,
even when they are lined with age.
I want to be the one who’ll still be able to
bring that smile on your face,
even when you no longer remember who I am.
And I want to be the one you’ll miss the most
when I am no longer by your side.

-eamarifosque 041113-

5 thoughts on “I Want

  1. It has been a long long time and I still wish and I still dream
    The wishes flow and bubble and swirl like and endless stream
    And so will it be and so will it, indeed, I have no doubt, remain
    One day, but these wishes will come true and end this pain

    One day, you will surely come out of the impenetrable mist
    And give, finally, I am sure, my overcast life, the happy twist
    We can then, with a smile,happily wish this winter good bye
    And enjoy the golden sun light up the now overcast sky

Leave a Reply

