Band-Aid

 

My heart has been wounded by a love that went
wrong,
yet you came and patched it good with some
band-aids and a few quick kisses.
I thought I wouldn’t get over the pain,
yet you showed me how flawed this thinking was.
Everybody gets hurt and they die a little bit,
when the love they nurture withered inside.
But it’s nothing that can’t be fixed by a willing heart
and hands that know how to heal.

My heart is slowly mending, your band-aids did the
work,
yet I will keep them for the meantime,
to remind me that wounds can heal if only I let
someone come closer and care for them.
And perhaps in the process find something more
powerful
than healing hands like love unsuspecting.

– eamarifosque 040113-

Leave a Reply

