Bohol

My first trip outside of Manila, Philippines was in Cebu and Bohol together with my best friends. I think this was in 2005 if I am not mistaken. It was a five day trip where we get to spend 2 days in Cebu and 3 days in Bohol. Unfortunately, I don’t have enough pictures of that trip especially in Cebu because I was still using my dad’s old camera and I was running out of film (yes, film). I’ll try to recall our adventures here so please bear with me. 🙂

Bohol

We disembarked on the Port of Tagbilaran where we hired a van to take us around the beautiful province.

Tagbilaran, Bohol

Touch down!

Our first stop was in Loboc River where we took a ride on a floating restaurant. We enjoyed some beautiful sights while being serenaded by a few local folks and gorging on some delightful local cuisine.

The Barge

Our entertainer for the day 🙂

Barge number 2

Another group of tourists.

 

Loboc River

A view of Loboc River.

 

Trees everywhere!

A green environment.

The river

Loboc River

After our tour ended, our next stop was Bohol’s amazing Chocolate Hills. You have to see these hills regardless of whether you are a tourist or a local. 🙂
Before you can enjoy the view of Chocolate Hills, you must first climb The Stairs. I just call it as such because of the many steps leading to the top. 😀

up and up

This is The Stairs. 🙂

Once you get to the top, you will be treated to a beautiful sight. One that you won’t get tired of looking at. I tried counting the hills but I failed. :))

The First Hill

Chocolate Hills up close 🙂

 

Chocolate hills

A different angle 🙂

The hill

The Hill

 

Chocolate hills

The road down.

After we had our fill of the famous Chocolate Hills, we stopped to see Bohol’s Tarsier. This itty, bitty creature is kinda cute. A word of warning for you guys who are planning on visiting the Tarsier: Please do not take photos with flash. It hurts their eyes, okay? Please heed the warning.

Philippine Tarsier

Hello there little guy 🙂

Afterwards, we stopped by Baclayon Church which is one of the oldest churches in the country. It was already night time when visited this church so we weren’t able to hear mass. Anyway, here’s a photo of the old church. Kind of creepy if you ask me especially at night. 😀

Old church

Spooky!

Like I said before, I was running out of film so this was the only shot I took. I think it served its purpose because I can’t stop thinking about that church after I took this picture. It’s creepy but kind of fascinating.

Finally, we were able to reach Panglao, home of the some of the best resorts in Bohol. I forgot the name of the resort we stayed in but what made the stay memorable is the beach. 🙂 Here are some photos taken by me and best friend Andrea.

Panglao beach

Water and trees 🙂

 

Panglao Beach

A different view.

 

Panglao Beach

Tourists.

 

Starfish

Starfishy 🙂

 

morning

Waiting for the sun.

Cloudy skies

Endless ocean.

 

Sun

yey! Sun!

Friends

Travel buddies. 🙂

Staying for 3 days in Bohol was not enough. Unfortunately, we had to pack our bags and go back to Cebu.

I wasn’t able to get a lot of photos of Cebu but I was fortunate enough to go back a few years later with my family which I will post soon. 🙂 Just to give you a hint of what awaits you when you go to Cebu here is one of its famous landmarks.

Magellan's Cross

Magellan’s Cross Plaque

 

Magellan's Cross

Stunning landmark.

Oh, and don’t forget to drop by Cebu’s market where you can get dried and salted fish. Just remember to change your shirt afterwards because you will smell like dried fish. :))

Dried fish

Dried fish galore!

There is much to see in Cebu and Bohol. Next time, I will bring a good camera for more photos. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bohol

  1. Pingback: The 10-minute Chocolate Hills experience | Monica

Leave a Reply

