Poetry: Alive

Since it’s December and many are saying that it’s nearing the end of the world, I thought that this poem of my mine is appropriate for the occasion. 😀 Anyway, I wrote this poem way back when I was in high school. Being alive is certainly something that we should be happy about regardless of how our day turns out. We just need to see how lucky we are that we are still breathing and have the chance to live our lives as we see fit.

Alive

I’m alive, still breathing

My blood courses through my veins.

I think every minute

Every second, every hour of the day

I walk, I run, I enjoy life this way.

I bask in the glory of the sun

I weave dreams upon the night sky.

I reminisce every joyous day that passed.

Yes, I’m alive, still breathing

Capturing the most intimate desires of my mind

Hiding from the scariest moments of my life.

I listen, I cry, I laugh, I speak

I hold everything dear.

I know how to love

to linger on a special moment

I know how to let go

And be tough at the same time.

Yes, I’m alive.

-EAM 122398-

Leave a Reply

